newspaper


IT News & Bulletins


Outlook Mobile App Disabled Due to Potential Security Risk

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Beginning on March 31, 2015, George Mason University students, faculty and staff will no longer be able to use the Microsoft Outlook mobile apps for iOS or... [read more]


Change to Wireless Networks

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Information Technology Services is simplifying the campus wireless network configuration. When finished, the university will see only three broadcast wireless... [read more]


Changes to Student MasonLive Email

Friday, February 13, 2015

As of Tuesday, March 3, students will no longer be able to log in to MasonLive using their Patriot Pass credentials (NetID and Patriot Pass strong password). In... [read more]


MESA Shares User Audit

Thursday, February 5, 2015

Due to new security regulations and in compliance with [read more]


Some Visual Studio Users Affected by New Microsoft Software Licensing Contract

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

On February 1, 2015, a new contract with Microsoft will go into effect, allowing faculty and staff access to some of the latest and most popular Microsoft... [read more]


Added Layer of Security for Patriot Web

Thursday, December 11, 2014

To better protect your information, Mason is adding an extra layer of security to the Patriot Web log in process. Beginning December 7, Patriot Web faculty,... [read more]


Patriot Web Admin Icon

Sunday, October 19, 2014

The morning of Friday, 10/24/2014, the ITU will deploy an icon to the desktops of most of Mason's Windows users. The icon will appear on computers throughout... [read more]


New Java Plugin for INB (and Discoverer) Windows Users - Sept. 7th, 2014

Monday, September 8, 2014

This Sunday, Sept. 7th, due to a server update, Windows users of Internet Native Banner and Discoverer must upgrade their Java plugin to version 1.7.0_67.

The... [read more]


ITU Will Focus Resources to Support Semester Startup

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Beginning Monday, August 18 through Friday, September 12, the Information Technology Unit (ITU) will concentrate its resources on the immediate technology... [read more]


Major Network Maintenance - Sunday, July 27

Friday, July 25, 2014

On Sunday, July 27, from 7:30 am to 1:00 pm, ITU will perform network firewall maintenance. Service interruptions may occur for users on and off campus during... [read more]


New Log in for Mason Wired, Wireless, and Residential Networks

Thursday, July 17, 2014

There is a new look and feel to the way you will log in to the public wired, wireless, and residential networks at Mason.  Users will continue to enter their... [read more]


New Virtual Private Network (VPN) Service Launched

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

The ITU has launched a new Virtual Private Network (VPN) service for Mason. The new VPN service virtually connects a remote user, working wirelessly or from an... [read more]


Office 365: Listserv Issue

Friday, June 6, 2014

ITU is currently investigating an issue where some messages sent from the Microsoft email system to George Mason University LISTSERV lists are appearing... [read more]


Scheduled Outage of All Mason Online Networks - Sunday, June 1

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

On Sunday, June 1, from 7:30 am to 1:00 pm, all Mason online services including systems, applications, websites, and services will be unavailable. Network... [read more]


New Voice Mail System for Mason Coming This Fall

Friday, May 16, 2014

This fall, Mason will switch to a new voice mail system.  Set up your new voice mailbox now:

From your extension, dial x3-7900

At the prompt... [read more]


Scheduled Outage of Banner, Blackboard, and Other Systems on Sunday, May 18

Thursday, May 15, 2014

On Sunday, May 18, from 7:45 am to 11:00 am, applications requiring Mason login authentication (including Banner Self-Service, Internet Native Banner, Shibboleth,... [read more]


Scheduled Software Outage: Saturday, May 3 - Sunday, May 4

Friday, May 2, 2014

From Saturday, May 3 at 6:00 am through Sunday, May 4 at 3:00 pm, Internet Native Banner, Patriot Web, and multiple related systems will be unavailable due to a... [read more]


Microsoft Internet Explorer Vulnerability Alert

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

What is it?
On April 26th, 2014, Microsoft announced that they discovered a vulnerability in Internet Explorer (IE). The... [read more]