newspaper


IT News & Bulletins


Patriot Web Admin Icon

Sunday, October 19, 2014

The morning of Friday, 10/24/2014, the ITU will deploy an icon to the desktops of most of Mason's Windows users. The icon will appear on computers throughout... [read more]


New Java Plugin for INB (and Discoverer) Windows Users - Sept. 7th, 2014

Monday, September 8, 2014

This Sunday, Sept. 7th, due to a server update, Windows users of Internet Native Banner and Discoverer must upgrade their Java plugin to version 1.7.0_67.

The... [read more]


ITU Will Focus Resources to Support Semester Startup

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Beginning Monday, August 18 through Friday, September 12, the Information Technology Unit (ITU) will concentrate its resources on the immediate technology... [read more]


Major Network Maintenance - Sunday, July 27

Friday, July 25, 2014

On Sunday, July 27, from 7:30 am to 1:00 pm, ITU will perform network firewall maintenance. Service interruptions may occur for users on and off campus during... [read more]


New Log in for Mason Wired, Wireless, and Residential Networks

Thursday, July 17, 2014

There is a new look and feel to the way you will log in to the public wired, wireless, and residential networks at Mason.  Users will continue to enter their... [read more]


New Virtual Private Network (VPN) Service Launched

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

The ITU has launched a new Virtual Private Network (VPN) service for Mason. The new VPN service virtually connects a remote user, working wirelessly or from an... [read more]


Office 365: Listserv Issue

Friday, June 6, 2014

ITU is currently investigating an issue where some messages sent from the Microsoft email system to George Mason University LISTSERV lists are appearing... [read more]


Scheduled Outage of All Mason Online Networks - Sunday, June 1

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

On Sunday, June 1, from 7:30 am to 1:00 pm, all Mason online services including systems, applications, websites, and services will be unavailable. Network... [read more]


New Voice Mail System for Mason Coming This Fall

Friday, May 16, 2014

This fall, Mason will switch to a new voice mail system.  Set up your new voice mailbox now:

From your extension, dial x3-7900

At the prompt... [read more]


Scheduled Outage of Banner, Blackboard, and Other Systems on Sunday, May 18

Thursday, May 15, 2014

On Sunday, May 18, from 7:45 am to 11:00 am, applications requiring Mason login authentication (including Banner Self-Service, Internet Native Banner, Shibboleth,... [read more]


Scheduled Software Outage: Saturday, May 3 - Sunday, May 4

Friday, May 2, 2014

From Saturday, May 3 at 6:00 am through Sunday, May 4 at 3:00 pm, Internet Native Banner, Patriot Web, and multiple related systems will be unavailable due to a... [read more]


Microsoft Internet Explorer Vulnerability Alert

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

What is it?
On April 26th, 2014, Microsoft announced that they discovered a vulnerability in Internet Explorer (IE). The... [read more]


Important Information Regarding the Heartbleed Open SSL Vulnerability

Monday, April 14, 2014

As you may be aware from national news reports, earlier this week a vulnerability was discovered in OpenSSL, which is a software library that is used to secure... [read more]


Network and Firewall Maintenance - Sunday, April 13

Friday, April 4, 2014

On Sunday, April 13, from 7:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., network engineers will make critical changes to Mason’s firewall during a regularly scheduled maintenance... [read more]


Mason Joins the eduroam Network

Friday, March 28, 2014

 George Mason University has joined eduroam, a group of institutions in more than 67 countries and territories worldwide that provides authenticated and encrypted... [read more]


Access to E-Mail and Online Services will be Intermittent on Sunday, 7:30 AM to 11: 30 AM

Friday, March 21, 2014

On Sunday morning, during the regularly scheduled maintenance period from 7:30 AM to 11:30 AM, Network Engineers will be making critical changes to Mason’s... [read more]


People Finder Email Contact Form

Friday, February 14, 2014

People Finder is the online directory for Mason students, faculty, and staff. The online contact form allowing non-Mason network users to send an email to Mason... [read more]


Updated Version of Symantec Endpoint Protection 12 Now Available

Friday, February 14, 2014

An updated version of Symantec Endpoint Protection 12 is now available for download on the antivirus.gmu.edu site. This updated version is now compatible with... [read more]


Updates to MASON-SECURE Wireless Network Servers

Friday, January 10, 2014

On Friday, January 10, Network Engineering changed the servers that provide the behind-the-scenes authentication for the MASON-SECURE wireless network.  Although... [read more]


Technology Changes that Impact Teaching and Learning

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

Technology changes that affect teaching and learning continue to be undertaken this academic year. You may wish to be mindful of the following recent updates:

... [read more]